top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTash Pinto

Tatted Taboo[b]s

Updated: Sep 18, 2019


if i am the longest relationship

of my life

isn't it time to

nurture intimacy

and love

with the person

i lie in bed with each night


- the sun and her flowers, rupi kaur

 

Name: Megs Kelly

Degree: Graduated BJourn 2018.

Current education? Masters in Journalism and Media Studies.

Occupation: Visual content creator at Grocotts Mail

Instagram: @meggymooh


Are tattoos and piercings still taboo at school or in the workplace? If you ask your grandmother, you’ll probably get a different answer to what Megs Kelly had to say. The thing is, tattoos used to be super taboo back in the day. And even though we're throwing it back to the 70s in our fashion choices and dancing to 90s tunes, the truth is, we're adapting style because what's underneath our moms' old clothes and thrift store finds, are a lot of blasphemous marks, depending on who you ask.


Before the 2000s, tattoos were highly criticized on women until the dawn of the millennial when women proved to have more tattoos than men in the USA. I don't actually think that right now history is repeating itself, I actually think it's recreating itself. We can see it in our piercings and tattoos, in our extraordinary hairstyles and our casual work wear (and no Debra, this piercing is not sore anymore, and I know these tattoos last a lifetime. And no these earrings aren't that heavy, and even if they were at least you're not the one wearing them. Oh, by the way, Debra, narrow-mindedness looks bad on you.)


As the youth, these questions are definitely discussed in more open-minded ways, so I hung out with Megs and we got to the crux of the forward helix and the septum. But you’re probably thinking, huh, what are those things and why do I care? She’s been called a lot of things – trashy, dyke, unprofessional – but she’s not even mad about it. She’s actually just a really cool visual content creator at Grocotts Mail, while trying to get her Masters. But that’s not what we’re talking about here. Let’s see what Megs says about feeling sexy, getting ready, and her favourite tattoos and piercings.


Mysterious, marked by memories, and jewelled all round – this is not the moonlight, but she feels like it. This is Megs Kelly.



1. How long does it take you to get ready in the morning?

It really depends hey. If I’m keen to look good, an hour and a half (this includes putting on make-up/ finding a really good outfit/shaving etc.). If I’m in a bad mood and I don’t care, 30 minutes.


2. Do you think people still judge others on what they wear?

For sure. People who are very close-minded.


3. Does the same go for body art and jewellery - are they still considered taboo by some older generations, and even perhaps in certain spaces today?

Definitely. My family isn’t fazed by it. My gran is though. She’s Catholic, so she wasn’t very impressed when I had permanent art on my body that celebrated another spirituality/deity. My family has gotten used to the piercings and tattoos on my body. But older generations still find it ‘trashy’ and ‘unprofessional’, but that’s definitely changing – stigmas and taboos are starting to become deconstructed and deliberated.


4. Did you have tattoos and piercings at school, and did you ever get in trouble for them?

I never had tattoos at school. But I did have a lot of piercings and I ALWAYS got in trouble for that.


5. How many piercings do you have and which is your favourite?

I have 12 piercings. My favourite one is my forward helix (the one that’s on the top of my ear).


This is a forward helix - now you know.

6. Do you plan on getting any more piercings, or want any that you wouldn’t get for any reason? Why?

I’d love a septum piercing. But I always get allergies so I don’t think it would be a good idea.


7. Okay let’s talk tattoos. How old were you when you got your first tattoo and did your family members know about it?

I was 18 and my uncle actually paid for it. My mom didn’t know, but she wasn’t opposed to it. She really liked it. She has tattoos herself, so it’s not something that’s stigmatised in my mom’s side of the family.


8. What's your favourite tattoo?

The Buddha on my shoulder: I’ve always loved Buddha. The lessons he teaches and his outlook on life. I have at least 10 Buddha ornaments in my room. A lot of people insult me for having a spiritual symbol that isn’t mine on my body.


The Buddha, or "enlightened one," was born Siddhartha which translates to "he who achieves his aim" and is the leader of Buddhism.

9. Tell me a tattoo story – does it mean anything?

The Om/Ganesh tattoo on my ankle – I designed this myself. ‘Om’ is a sacred sound and a spiritual symbol in Hinduism and it usually signifies the essence of consciousness. Ganesh is one of the best-known and most worshiped deities in the Hindu religion – he’s the elephant. He is considered the remover of obstacles and the patron of arts and sciences. To be very honest – when I got these tattoos I wasn’t aware of my whiteness. By this I mean I wasn’t aware that whiteness is known for stealing from other cultures. This wasn’t my intention when I got my tattoos but it is something I need to be aware of and take responsibility for.

The Ganesh and Om merged and designed by Megs herself.

10. Let’s talk hairstyle. You’ve embraced a range of different cuts and colours over the years; how would you describe your look now?

A lot of people think I’m so unique because I have short hair. I’ve literally had short hair my whole life. There’s no defining moment in my life that made me want to cut my hair. I just looked up to my mom (who had short hair too) and so I maintained my short hair. My style now is me. Obviously I like to follow trends – but I don’t really liked to be categorized. Not many people do. But if I had to, I’d say it’s ‘edgy’, ‘millennial’, ‘artistic’, ‘creative’ and ‘extroverted’.


11. What do you think the biggest misconception is about you that people make based on your appearance?

That I am homosexual/bisexual. Even my family has thought that. I’m not saying I could never be. I truly believe that heterosexuality is starting to demise. Anyway, that’s another chat. But I’ve been teased by men. Especially because back home, I only have male friends. I’ve been called a ‘dyke’ and a ‘little boy’ before – by my father and step-mother. It really doesn’t bother me though. I love who I am and my mother loves who I am.


12. Your best asset?

On my body? Probably my eyes, hands and hair.


13. What do you feel sexiest in?

LOL. NAKED!


Designed at East Coast Kustoms in Port Elizabeth, Megs recalls this being the most painful tattoo yet, at two months old.

14. When are you most comfortable?

When I’m by myself or with my partner.


15. Okay tough one – tattoos or piercings; if you had to choose one?

I’d say piercings!


So while Megs would choose piercings, what’s your chat? She didn't exactly tell you why you should care; but I think it goes without saying. Tattoos, piercings and details say a lot about who we are - and we're more progressive than older generations. Today, tattoos and piercings are celebrated more openly but despite this, they still create misconceptions, speak to privilege and appropriation. You're creating an impression when you make your decisions, and people are always going to judge you based on that. So basically, I agree with Megs, that whatever the year, and whatever you wear, do it even if it’s going to get you in trouble.


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

From Tash, With Love.

bottom of page