top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTash Pinto

Kickin' it with Khwezi

Updated: Aug 14, 2023


take the compliment

do not shy away from

another thing that belongs to you


- the sun and her flowers, rupi kaur


Khwezi Ziqubu, the wild card. Photo by: Tasha Pinto

The thing I love about fashion and expressing yourself is that you can literally tell when someone knows that they look good and feels good. I saw Khwezi Ziqubu, 22 year old Rhodes University student, walking on Rhodes University campus. Smoke in hand, earphones in, and hair blowing wildly in the wind - she was a breath of fresh air. When I met her, she felt like the fire and wind combined. She is as as warm as yellow makes you feel, and wears her smile with confidence. She does however, not accept the compliment that is so rightly hers, readjusting her short skirt as passers by disturb her from her trance. For so many years, short skirts and bright colours, piercings and smoking were all taboo for women out there. But in 2018, girls are doing whatever the hell they want. Whether they're wearing it, rolling it, smoking it, or piercing it, it's all progressive and it's all cool (well most of it, sometime, check yourself though.)


1. I stopped you because of your outfit today. Tell me about the style?

Its a yellow top, denim skirt, boots and a denim jacket. So I guess it's a retro or urban style.


2. How do you feel in it?

I feel really confident, and I like the yellow because I think it releases a feeling of happiness and just cheers me up.

Sun Queen Khwezi. Photo by: Tasha Pinto


3. Are you comfortable right now?

Yes, I am. As much as I love looking good, I don't think I'd subject myself to something uncomfortable just for the sake of looking good.


4. Are you comfortable in front of the camera?

I am when I'm taking pictures of myself, but I get quite intimidated in front of others' lenses. It takes me a while before i get comfortable or feel good.


5. How long does it take you to get ready in the morning?

10. It really depends. It ranges from 20 minutes to an hour depending on whether I do my make up or not.


6. What do you feel sexiest in?

For me there's two types of sexy, there's confident sexy and vulnerable or intimate sexy. So 'confident sexy' for me is like a 'beat' face and probably any like, cosplay. And 'intimate sexy' is like cute PJ's, no make up and just in a state of feeling vulnerable but still good.


7. What do you feel most comfortable in?

I feel most comfortable in like sweaters or leggings with and over-sized hoodie and sneakers.


8. Your favourite campus outfit?

I think thigh high socks or a denim jacket.


9. I can tell you like accessories, do you plan the jewellery first or the outfit?

Definitely the outfit. I love clothes, and I don't think I could plan an outfit around an accessory but I can do a lot with a piece of clothing.


10. Have you ever gotten in trouble for the way you were dressed?

I wouldn't define it as trouble but my dad and aunts just find my septum questionable so basically they don't like it. But I do, so. Who cares?


Smokes and septums. Photo by: Tasha Pinto

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

From Tash, With Love.

bottom of page